Tinkering with Julia

The U.S. Census Bureau has released the 2013 5 year estimates from the American Community Survey.  We use this data a lot at work.  Since we are primarily an Excel shop here, in the past we have used the Summary File Data Retrieval Tool to pull data.  I have been toying with the idea of using R or Python with the Census API to speed up the process but I digress.  We are left with a ton of large Excel files that we have to wrangle further.

I want to use a scripting language to preform a filtering exercise but I have yet been successful.  The files are too large for R to handle using the xlsx library on my machine (even after allocating more RAM to the Java heap).  Python may work but I haven’t fully explored this.

At the same time I have heard rumblings about a new language Julia and thought I would take a look into it.  I am unable to install Julia studio because I do not have a 64-bit computer.  I will share my thoughts on Julia later.

Leave a Reply

