Link

More Economic Data APIs

I previously posted about the FRED API which got me thinking that there are other APIs that others might not be aware of.  I would like to pass them on.

The U.S. Census Bureau has an API that give you access to economic indicators, as well as demographic data (decennial census and American Community Survey data).  I just requested my API key.  Sunlight Labs has programmed a Python wrapper but it looks to be a bit outdated.

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics also has an API.  I have used the API to get unemployment rates for some widgets I’ve programmed (example).  I’m not sure if there are series that are available through the BLS that are not available through FRED.  There is also a 3rd party Python wrapper.

Leave a Reply

